New Day Resolutions

I’ve never been one for making resolutions on New Year’s Day. I’m aware of how much of an opportunity for failure this creates and it’s just not something I want to do to myself. However, I recognize there are so many areas in my life that need to be tweaked, improved, changed or eliminated. Since I have no desire to make some big promise to myself to make a big change for the upcoming year, I’ve decided I’m going to take baby steps and set goals and desires that I can achieve in a single day.

One thing I recognize about myself is my tendency to beat myself up when I fail at something. During my Project 365 Photo A Day challenge, I would rake myself over the proverbial coals when I missed a day. And don’t even get me started on how depressed I became when I missed so many days in a row that I just threw my hands up in the air and surrendered to the failure. What I didn’t do was to celebrate the 306 days I DID post a photo.  I’m not sure why my brain works in this way but I hope to slowly improve and change this way of thinking. I’m hoping that by celebrating a daily goal reached I can create more positive thinking and less negative, self-defeating thoughts.

I started the day by listing a few things for my New Day Resolutions for January 1. My list included eating no meat, cleaning out my closet, spending some quality time with the kids, writing, napping, and starting the YouVersion Essential 100 Bible Reading Plan. Seems pretty simple, right? Well, it would have been had I not gotten sidelined by some stomach ailment that’s pretty much kept me in bed all day (check off napping). I never did get up the energy nor feel well enough to clean my closet so that’s going to move to another day in the near future. I also didn’t spend any time with the kids for the same reason but I’m hoping I get to do that tomorrow after work. I was able to avoid eating any meat and actually had a full vegan day so I think I should give myself a bonus point for that. I’m writing for the first time in months and it’s feeling great even though I feel like my thoughts and words are all over the place but I’ve also promised myself that I’m going to write for me and if that means rambling on and on in run on sentences that don’t make sense to anyone but me, then so be it. LOL See how I did that there? Clearly I can check off the writing goal for the day. The last goal was accomplished, sort of. I called an audible and started the Soul Detox reading plan instead of Essential 100. I’m calling this one a success because at the end of the day, the goal was to feed my soul with God’s word and I did that.

I’m happy with what I was able to do today, even with this stomach thing knocking me down. I’ve got one more goal to check off on today but I’ll be doing that with pen and paper. Gil picked us up these amazing Five Year Journals and today begins that project. I’ve never been much of a journaler, but I’m looking forward to doing this with him.

 

4 thoughts on “New Day Resolutions

  1. No New Year’s resolutions for me either, Lee. Perhaps you could choose a Word or Sentence for 2013? Like ‘Balance’ or ‘Expression’. Perhaps ‘Acceptance’. You can apply that word to each situation and you won’t get frustrated when you don’t reach the goals you set for yourself. Just an idea :)
    For me the Sentence for 2013 is ‘To set my stories free!’ :)

Leave a Reply

