Posted in 30 Days of Truth, Inspired by Music, Post A Day Challenge

How Church Found Me On The Rock Boat

(30 Days of Truth – Day 10 – )

Today’s topic is “Something at which you’ve been a champion or the best”. I have to be honest and say this is totally not what I want to write about today so I’m going to bank this one for another time. What I do want to write about is how I found church on The Rock Boat. No really! I did. I found church on The Rock Boat. Even among the loud music, crazy virgins, booze, chaos and costumes, God whispered in my ear, right there on Rock Boat XI.

When we boarded The Inspiration (kinda ironic huh?) on Thursday afternoon, I had no idea what was in store for me. I expected to see good friends, hear amazing music and eat until I couldn’t breathe. I did all of those things and then some. What I didn’t expect was the crazy amount of new friends we would make, the rediscovery of old music, and my new love of self-serve ice cream cones. There was one more thing I didn’t expect to happen this year and that was to be completely and utterly overwhelmed with the feeling that God was on that boat with me.

I was most excited about this year’s boat because of several bands, but the one I was most looking forward to seeing was Needtobreathe. Gil and I had seen them twice last year and knew what their live shows were like, but nothing prepared me for the combination of The Rock Boat AND Needtobreathe. Every time those boys took to the stage it became a spiritual experience for me. It was a magical combination of rocking my face off and filling my heart with grace. It was impossible to make it through a set without the tears flowing.  And these were no sad tears. These were joyful tears. If you’ve ever shared a moment with God, you know exactly what I’m talking about. It is because of Needtobreathe that I was able to find church on this year’s Rock Boat, or how church found me.

One of the great things about music and lyrics is that it’s always open to interpretation. You and I may hear a song and come away with a completely different feeling of what that song means. Needtobreathe doesn’t promote themselves as a Christian Rock band but their music is most definitely God-inspired. During a special pre-concert meet and greet last year, Gil actually questioned Bo about this. Bo explained that they never set out to be a Christian band. Their father is a pastor so they write about what they know. He said if their father had been a truck driver, they would probably write songs about that. What a blessing for us that their “daddy was a preacher”.

My most memorable Rock Boat XI experience was when the band sang Valley of Tomorrow. All three times. Since the moment I first heard the song Valley of Tomorrow, I’ve known it had special meaning for me. I have no idea what the guys were writing about when they came up with these lyrics but I can tell you that all I see is hope and the need to have faith. The lyrics to this song simply break me down every single time I hear them.  This song is my reassurance that God is never more than a whisper away, that we are never alone. All we have to do is listen and have faith. I can tell you that right there on the Lido Deck and in the Paris Lounge of the Carnival Inspiration, I heard what God was saying to me and it sounded like a scream. I heard it and I won’t second guess it.

I am a troubled mind, I am a calloused heart
A failing engine from driving way too hard
Trying way too hard
I pulled a 38 out of my bleeding heart
I killed my selfishness for bringing me this far
This far away from you

When the daylight breaks through the buildings of Chicago
I will stand alone in the valley of tomorrow

Oh, this is the way I wanna go down
(This is the last time) I’m starting over with you
This is the way I wanna go out

I never second-guessed the little voice I heard
It’s just a whisper, that sounded like a scream
I aint never felt so free

When the daylight breaks through the buildings of Chicago
I will stand alone in the valley of tomorrow

Oh, this is the way I wanna go down
(This is the last time) I’m starting over with you
This is the way I wanna go out
(This is the last time) I’m starting over with you

I never second-guessed the little voice I heard
It’s just a whisper

(This video is NOT a video from The Rock Boat XI but this version of the song is very similar to Needtobreathe’s performance on Saturday night on TRB)

Author:

Animal lover, music junkie, wife of @danaCreative. I'm on a mission to find my authentic self. Love supporting worthy charities and causes however I can.

6 thoughts on “How Church Found Me On The Rock Boat

  1. Babe,

    This is an excellent post, and I continue to be inspired by you. I am so thankful we get to share all these wonderful experiences together. I am even more thankful we get to be reminded that through it all, He is always with us.

    Like

  2. Hi Lee, I always love hearing the story of when, where and how people find God. With God all things are possible even for a formerly lost soul such as myself. I also love that you and your husband share the passion for blogging. My husband is my encourager and number one blog stalker. I will be stopping back aound soon.

    Like

    1. Hi Jeanne, This journey into the blogging world has been great for us. And I think we have all been lost at one time or another. I know I have. I think you would like my blog Wrong Turn if you like stories of finding God in odd places. Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. I truly appreciate it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

