Posted in Inspired by Music, Post A Week Challenge

Miss Grumpy Pants No More

I’ve been in a super funk today. I think it’s a combination of complete exhaustion from lack of sleep, work stresses, life stresses, traffic , and some unnecessary laughter at my expense this morning. I won’t even go into that but I will say that it’s not okay to make jokes at someone’s expense when you aren’t really that tight and you don’t know what you are talking about. So anyway, by the time my day got rolling, I was in a foul mood.

I posted a message on twitter about my mood and was happy to see that other people also experience bouts of unexplainable grumpiness. At least I know I’m not alone and that always makes us feel better, right? Also, I felt the love from some of my real life friends and from some twitter friends I haven’t met in real life yet. This lifted my spirits considerably. I don’t know about you, but just knowing someone cares is enough to turn even the worst moods around.

I also realized, thanks to Twitter, again, that I really need some sun and retail therapy. I am a girl after all and these things always make us happy. I’m not a big sun worshipper, never have been, but I do think some time just soaking up some of God’s natural Vitamin D will lift me out of this haze. As for the retail therapy, I have a $50 Old Navy gift card just burning a hole in my pocket. As a bonus, I got a 30% off coupon in the mail today for their Give& Get event in which 5% of what I spend goes to The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. I get to shop AND support a good cause. How awesome is that? Just the idea of all of this made me smile and gave me something to look forward to in the next few days.

My day may have gotten off to a really bad start, but it is wrapping up on a high note. I just had a really fun conversation with our new General Manager at work. My boss was in the room but kind of hanging back just listening to us talk when he interjected and said, “I’ve really got to get out of my office more. Lee, you get to do all the fun stuff.” WHAM! Did I ever feel that ‘stop feeling sorry for yourself’ brick hit me square up side my head. What the heck do I have to be all depressed and grumpy about? I have an amazing life and have been give opportunities that others only dream about. I am so blessed and I hate that I need to be reminded of that.

I made the comment today that I was going to ‘change my mind’ and ‘just feel better’ and by golly, that’s exactly what I’m going to do. I’m going to salvage the rest of this day and live it to the fullest. The rest of my evening is going to be all about music and friendship and love. I’m leaving the stresses of this day way behind me in my rear view mirror. I’m off to see the Sarah Mac Band at The Hideaway Café. We are picking up our friend Rebecca who is in town on business and I am super thrilled about this.

Getting to spend time with Rebecca tonight is such a bonus for me. Rebecca is one of the main reasons I started blogging in the first place and I’m excited to talk to her about how it is changing my life and how she’s partly responsible for that. I’m pretty sure she never set out to change anyone’s life with her blog but I’m living proof that it’s happening. I can’t wait to tell her thank you and to let her know that I count her when I count the blessings in my life.

And now I’m simply giddy with anticipation about the wonderful things this night has in store for me. I will be Miss Grumpy Pants no more!

Author:

Animal lover, music junkie, wife of @danaCreative. I'm on a mission to find my authentic self. Love supporting worthy charities and causes however I can.

One thought on “Miss Grumpy Pants No More

Leave a Reply

