Posted in My life in pictures, Post A Day Challenge

181/365 Fruit on the Bottom

I bought a huge container of low-fat vanilla yogurt with the hopes of saving a little bit of money and allowing for some personal creativity. As I packed my lunch today I spooned out a 1 cup serving and cut up about a 1/2 cup of freshly thawed strawberries. When I got to work, I took about half of the mixture and cut up half of a banana (of course I had to eat the other half because no one likes brown bananas) and put the remaining half back in the fridge at work.

THIS WAS SO DELICIOUS AND FRESH AND SWEET!

Total Weight Watchers point value = 2 points!

And the best part – I get to eat the other half tomorrow. 🙂

For those who are interested in our little strawberry flash freeze experiment, the berries really held together very nicely. After 2 days of thawing in the fridge, they came out a little slimey but not at all mushy. I can handle slimy, especially if they are just going into another food, like yogurt or a smoothie.  The whole berries held their shape and the sweetness was just like the day I bought them.

I may have to make another trip to Plant City this week to get some more. So Yummy!

Author:

Animal lover, music junkie, wife of @danaCreative. I'm on a mission to find my authentic self. Love supporting worthy charities and causes however I can.

2 thoughts on “181/365 Fruit on the Bottom

  1. I’m from the Willamette Valley in Oregon. Starwberries are huge there – but they don’t come ’til June. As kids we picked berries for spending money, big part of my chilshood. My mom did the exactly same thing as you have. Best way I know to preserve strawberries. Yummy!!! I love them.

    Like

    1. Gil was just saying how proud he was that HE was the one who told us about this dry ice method of freezing. I’m really not all that surprised that we didn’t know about it back in Alabama. Everything just went into Ziplocs and canning jars. Heck, I had not idea you could just walk into Publix and buy dry ice.

      Like

Leave a Reply

