Posted in 40 Bags in 40 Days

Unmentionables

Today’s the day. And boy was it a doozy. I knew starting my 40 Bags in 40 Days challenge on a Wednesday (our busiest day and longest day of the week) would be difficult, but I was determined to start on Ash Wednesday no matter what. The day started with me oversleeping, and of course that set the tone for the rest of the day. I seemed to be a step behind all of my plans and all of the plans others made for me all day long. But, I made it. I got through my work day, a power meeting in the afternoon, my drive home, some more work, a quick dinner prep, and then finished out the marathon day with our church small group.

But, oh wait, that wasn’t the end of my day. I still needed to fill a bag with crap. At 10Pm at night, I’m not really too excited about tackling some big project from my list so I stared at my Declutter list and picked something quick.  20140305_224652

I’m really glad I had the forethought in my planning to include some small projects for days like today, when I’m not up for tackling something that would take hours. For today, I decided to clear out my undies. You know, those undergarments that you hang onto for years because they are comfortable, but would die if you actually got caught wearing them. And I can’t be the only one who hoards single socks in the hopes the missing match will suddenly appear 3 years down the road.

20140305_215130After choosing my project, I grabbed my camera and a grocery bag and headed into my closet to knock this one out.  Now, as you can see from this picture, my closet is NOT a welcoming place. It’s actually quite scary and has even been known to drive my dear (OCD suffering) husband Gil away in tears. It is for this reason I’m only sharing a little tiny photo of a very specific area with you today. Not every project on my list is as daunting as my closet and I don’t want to scar you all with the whole disaster zone on the very first day. Baby steps, people, baby steps.  

The white drawer on top is where I keep my undies. As you can see, it sometimes become a catch all for other clothing because, well, I’m too lazy to grab a hanger from 12 inches away and hang them up. You can also see that when putting my laundry away, I’m guilty of gingerly tossing it from the doorway and what happens is that random unmentionables are left just hang out of the drawer, or on the floor.  The wire basket at the bottom of the photo is my sock drawer. And yes, that’s a small wallet/bag I threw in there when unpacking another bag over the weekend. I have no idea why I chose to put it there instead of one of the wire basket just to the right where I actually keep my small bags. And no, I wasn’t drunk at the time.

I turned on YouVersion, selected the book of Mark, and hit play.  Honestly, the whole process of cleaning out the two drawers and matching up my socks only took about 15 minutes. But, in that 15 minutes I was able to listen to three whole chapters of the bible. That’s three chapters more than I would have read today and how awesome is THAT. (And for the sake of clarification and in an attempt to prevent my husband from calling me out publicly, let me go ahead and say that for me, read = listens, so when I say that I’m “reading” something, I really mean I’m “listening” to someone read something to me. )

AND I was able to fill a bag and actually toss it in the trash.20140305_221107

AND I did this. One item done and one bag filled and removed from my house.20140305_223139

In small group tonight we talked about how we sometimes forget to celebrate the little things. Well, I’m taking that lesson to heart tonight as I grin from ear to ear while I reflect on 15 minutes of decluttering a small section of my closet and filling my spirit with the Word of God. 

The Spirit then compelled Jesus to go into the wilderness, where he was tempted by Satan for forty days. He was out among the wild animals, and angels took care of him. – Mark 1:12-13

Author:

Animal lover, music junkie, wife of @danaCreative. I'm on a mission to find my authentic self. Love supporting worthy charities and causes however I can.

10 thoughts on “Unmentionables

    1. Christi, several items on my list only require the ability to click a mouse. I added clean up email subscriptions, organize Pinterest, trim down my blog subscriptions, etc. Just an idea for you while you are recovering from your second surgery. Let me know if you want some help. I could come hold the bag for you. 🙂

      Like

  1. I just read your last two posts and it seems like you had taken a break from blogging. One word about your writing: AWEPLAUSE! I have a request: 40 blogs in 40 days from you! Beautifully younique!

    Like

  2. I love this post and this idea as to how to tackle and conquer decluttering. And what a great idea to listen to the Bible while you’re working. Smart lady, you are! Thanks for being so real in this one. I’m not certain I’d ever be brave enough to post photos of my closet : )) Keep writing!

    Like

    1. Cheryl, the closet reveal is going to get a lot worse before it gets better. It’s a mess in there. I figure if I’m talking about authenticity, I should put it all out on the table. Thanks for reading and like I told Rick, stay tuned for more messiness. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

